High-pass Filter using Nengo

Hi guys, I’m new to Nengo and at first I know of the existence of a low-pass filter implementation with nengo using differential equations (Tutorial 12: Differential Equations). Would you know if there is a possibility to implement a high-pass filter?
Can u help me?

Any help, comments are welcome.

Hi @vzanon, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

Nengo’s implementation of the Lowpass filter can be found in the synapse.py file. It’s implemented as a linear (LTI) system, so if you know the parameters for a high-pass filter, you create your own Highpass filter implementation.

1 Like

Hi @xchoo, thanks for your reply.

I believe I need to find the impulse response function for the high-pass filter and implement how this low-pass filter is implemented.

Gratefully!!!

Hi @xchoo, how are you ??

1. I researched the implementation of the low-pass filter in Nengo (file synapse.py), and in its context it is defined with an impulse response function, as follows:

f (t) = (1 / tau) * exp (-t / tau)

How did he come up with this expression f(t)? Is it the homogeneous solution of the differential equation? Can you help me understand?

1. I managed to find the expression that tutorial 12 implements.
    See below:

Schematic:

Differential Equation (First Order Low-pass Filter):

(1) ->     i(t) = C*dy(t)/dt           (Current Capacitor)
(2) ->     R*i(t) + y(t) - x(t) = 0      (Law of Kirchhoff)

The (1) and (2), then:
RC*dy(y)/dt + y(t) = x(t)

dy(t)/dt = x(t)/RC - y(t)/RC,     tau = RC
dy(t)/dt = x(t)/tau - y(t)/tau                    <----------------------