NengoDL MNIST Tutorial: Activation function used during training

Hello, I am pretty new to nengo and spiking neural networks in general. I am trying to understand the MNIST classification tutorial. Some of my question are already answered in one of the topics: “NengoDL MNIST tutorial: some questions about Conv2D TensorNode”. However, I still have some doubts/questions to clear.

1. According to my limited knowledge, we cannot train directly the SNN model because of the non differentiable (spiking) activation function. The tutorial uses LIF as a neuron model, what kind of approximation of this neuron model is used in the training? Is the network trained on SoftLIF?

2. What about the encoding scheme? I read that no encoding scheme is applied to the input vector and is fed directly to the network as real values. If I had to apply any encoding scheme then how would it change the network?

I am sorry if these questions are answered already… or if I am asking stupid questions. :grimacing:

Thank you.

1 Like

Hi @Choozi, and welcome to the forum!

Those are great questions! There may be partial answers to them scattered throughout the forum, but I’ll try to give a high-level overview here.