Learning a Linear Transformation

Hi community,

I’m quite new to Nengo and simply trying to comprehend all the examples and also wanted to watch the Summer school videos to become comfortable with the API.

However, as I was experimenting with the examples, I wondered if it was possible to learn a linear transformation in the form of a matrix multiplication (Y = AX) with the PES learning rule.

I thought maybe it could look something like this:

# -- input and pre popluation
    inp = nengo.Node([1, 2, 3, 4])
    pre = nengo.Ensemble(1,dimensions=4)
    nengo.Connection(inp, pre)

matrix = np.matrix([[0, 1, 0, 0], [0, 0, 1, 0], [0, 0, 0, 1], [1, 0, 0, 0]])

# -- post populations
    post_pes = nengo.Ensemble(1, dimensions=4)

# -- reference population, containing the actual product
    product = nengo.Ensemble(1, dimensions=4)
    nengo.Connection(inp, product, transform=matrix, synapse=None)

# -- error populations
    error_pes = nengo.Ensemble(1, dimensions=4)
    nengo.Connection(post_pes, error_pes)
    nengo.Connection(product, error_pes, transform=-1)

Hi @SebVol, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

Yes, absolutely! The PES learning rule is quite capable of learning linear (and non-linear) transformations, as evidenced by the examples here. As a bit of a teaser, here’s the output of a network I’ve made that learns a randomly shuffled identity matrix (i.e., it just transposes the order of the vector element around). This output is recorded after the network has been trained for 200s, and while this output is being probed, the learning signal has been inhibited, to demonstrate that the network has generalized the learned connection (similar to what is done in this example).

From the plots, we see that the network has done a pretty good job at learning the shuffled identity matrix. :smiley:

You are generally on the right track, although, there are a few pointers I have for you.