What is the relationship between NEF, tensorflow,nengoDL, and nengo?

Hi,everyone!
I am a novice. In the process of learning nengo, I found that nengo was created based on NEF, and tensorflow can be used in nengoDL, so is nengoDL also created based on tensorflow? Is there a containment relationship between nengo and nengoDL?
I would be very grateful if you could answer my question!

Hello @YL0910! Welcome to the community!

Having some experience with Nengo and Nengo-DL I think I can take a glance at your question. You are mostly correct with your understanding. NEF, as the acronym stands for is a framework to model neural connections, neural communication etc. when attempting to simulate (in general) a cognitive task with the help of neuron models. As you might have noticed TensorFlow (TF) generally uses very abstract representation of neurons, namely ReLU, sigmoid etc, but NEF uses detailed computational models of biological neurons.

Nengo is a python library built on top of NEF and SPA to facilitate easy usage of the NEF and SPA theory. More details here and here. Coming to Nengo-DL, it is a simulator specifically designed for implementing and executing deep learning models with nengo objects, for example with spiking neurons. An obvious question would be… why have nengo-dl when nengo is already present? Well because nengo is a more general library for building general neural models (or even a brain model!) whereas Nengo-DL is specifically designed for deep learning tasks, e.g. image recognition, video recognition etc., hence built on top of TF to leverage its (i.e. tensorflow’s) environment.