Very Confused about Nengo Learning Model Implementation

I am trying to learn how to implement my own learning model in Nengo by reviewing all of the following code:

My end goal is to implement a Generalized Linear Neural Model described best by this figure, where the dice represents a probability to obtain a spike:

However, I cannot seem to get a grasp of how these functions work and what logic I am supposed to place in each function. For example, where do I place the logic for my activation function (sigmoid, originally I though this was the rates function), how do I use the step_math function to feedback the post-spike information, what does the max_rates_intercepts do, how does the LIF model described in the code work, etc. It seems I like lack some foundation as I am new to Nengo and only have studied the examples in the user guide and this code before attempting to program this neural model. Is there more material I can study to get a better understanding, preferably video tutorials or a step by step explanation (more in-depth than just the code) of how to implement a neural model?

I have posted other topics here before for a better understanding of this and other material and have understood it but I think I need a further understanding.

Could you give some more details on the model? For instance, how is the filter described (e.g., as a transfer function, a state-space model, or some convolutional kernel)? What is the form of the static input-output response curve (e.g., a sigmoid)? And does the dice-roll represent a Poisson generator? Some of these details might matter in providing guidance as to the easiest route.

Also, what do you plan on doing with this model? Do you intend to create populations of them, with each neuron having a different encoding filter? And do you need to learn the optimal weights to have the population represent some particular vector over time?