Using NEF with 'exclusive OR' and some other questions

Background

I’ve been reading the “Technical Overview of the Neural Engineering Framework” by Terry Stewart, and it filled in some gaps in my understanding (I’m a newbie), but I want to make sure that I understand what he says there.

XOR and the NEF

In the paper, he mentions:

Importantly, this means that nonlinear functions can be computed with a single layer of connections –
no back-propagation of error is required. This includes not only the classic XOR problem, but also
more complex functions such as multiplication, trigonometric functions, or even circular convolution.

How do you solve the XOR problem with the NEF?

XOR has a truth table as follows:

0 0 | 0
0 1 | 1
1 0 | 1
1 1 | 0

(first 2 columns are inputs, last column is outputs).

To solve this, our group of 3 neurons could each have 2 incoming weights.
So they might have:

Neuron A: 0 1
Neuron B: 1 0
Neuron C: 1 1

So combined, this 3 member neural group give us a vector that represents the output.
For instance, the case where the input is 0, 1 it would produce a vector A=1, B=0, C=0
the case where the input is 1, 1 would produce a vector A=0 B=0 C=1

(Am I correct so far?)

The encoding equation is:

In the article, it says this: "if the $e_i$ values are all aligned with the standard basis vectors, then nonlinear functions of multiple variables cannot be computed (this is the case for standard connectionist models, which is why they require multiple layers)."

I’m wondering what ‘standard basis vectors’ are here. Are they 0 1 and 1 0 (the x and y axis)? If so, is that third neuron of 1, 1 an extra basis that gives more ability to represent non-linear functions?

Now lets suppose we want to recreate the input that came into this neuron triplet, and pass it from the neuron triplet to another group of neurons, this group having 10 neurons in it.