Trouble with nengo_gui

Dear Colleagues,

I am having a bit of a problem trying to load the GUI from within a python script. I am new to python, I cannot make sense of the error message and I wonder if it’s related to my setup rather than the GUI itself. I am using a Windows machine with Spyder 4.0.1 and Python 3.7. (I don’t do Jupyter and notebooks.)

After I interrupt the Spyder run with Ctrl+C it seems that port 8080 is stuck so when I try to run the same script from the command line (Anaconda PowerShell Prompt) the browser window is blank. I have to quit Spyder and run the script from the command line to load the GUI.

If I am doing something terribly wrong somewhere would you please point me to the doc page?

The code implements the single neuron demo from HBB.

"""
example 1 chapter 1 of Eliasmith's How to Build a Brain
single neuron model based on a script by s72sue available at
https://github.com/s72sue/Nengo2-Tutorials/tree/master/chapter1
"""
import numpy as np                                  # numerical methods
import nengo                                        # nengo itself
model = nengo.Network( label = 'Single Neuron' )
with model:
    cos = nengo.Node( lambda t: np.cos( 16 * t ) )
    neuron = nengo.Ensemble( 1, dimensions = 1, encoders = [[1]] )
    nengo.Connection( cos, neuron )
import nengo_gui
nengo_gui.GUI(__file__).start()

and the full copy of my console is

Python 3.7.4 (default, Aug  9 2019, 18:34:13) [MSC v.1915 64 bit (AMD64)]
Type "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
IPython 7.12.0 -- An enhanced Interactive Python.
runfile('C:/Bogdan_root/01_Research/01_VisSidus/09_Neural_engineering/Sims/Nengo_tutorials/H2BB_chapter_1/tutorial1.py', wdir='C:/Bogdan_root/01_Research/01_VisSidus/09_Neural_engineering/Sims/Nengo_tutorials/H2BB_chapter_1')
Starting nengo server accessible at:
  http://localhost:8080/?token=4174ecc2def285a5b0827337c8281bfb76733dcd1727d1bc
Exception in thread Thread-7: