Spiking Heidelberg Digits - Input Spike Trains

Hi there!

I am very new to Nengo and my first project is to experiment with supervised learning methods on the Spiking Heidelberg Digits dataset.

The dataset consists of audio files of spoken digits converted into spike trains and the corresponding labels indicating the correct digits. Of course the goal is to solve the classification task i.e. given the input spikes, figure out the digit.

For each training/test example, the spike trains are given in the form of two vectors of the same length, times and units. Times contains the time moments when a neuron spiked, and units indicates which neuron spiked, among 700 neurons in total.

In other words:

for i in len(times), units[i] produced a spike at time times[i]

There is no symmetry w.r.t. time

• examples have variable total lengths, roughly between 0.6 and 1.1 seconds.
  • there is no fixed sampling rate i.e. when I take all time moments in the dataset and sort them, the pair-wise distance between moments is not fixed, and there is no common divisor, so I cannot force a fixed time step.

I am going through the documentation and I am struggling to come up with a method to implement this stimulus for what will be my classifier network.

Any ideas and suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Even though there’s no fixed sampling rate, you can still bin the spike times into timesteps. One way to do this would be to use the np.histogram function:

import numpy as np

# I'm creating some random times as demonstration data,
# but you'd use the spike times for each neuron
times = np.random.uniform(size=200)
dt = 0.001
max_length = 1.1
timesteps = dt * np.arange(int(max_length / dt))
spikes_per_timestep, _ = np.histogram(times, bins=timesteps)

When you bin each example, you can use your maximum length of 1.1 seconds, and any examples that don’t spike after e.g. 0.6 seconds will just have zero spikes after that point.

1 Like