Reservoir example with spiking neurons

Hello there.

I am new to SNN and nengo. I need to implement a Reservoir with spiking neurons (basically, LSM) but I am struggling to understand how to do it.

My input is an analog signal that I convert into UP and DOWN spikes with an encoding algorithm. As far as I understand, nengo.Node is used to map a continuous input, but can not be used with spike array (1D, composed of 0,1,-1). Should I use nengo.Ensemble to define my input ?

Then, I imagine that I have to use nengo.Ensemble for the Reservoir. Can I tune the network topology (3D coordinates of the neurons, space between them, etc.) ?

Finally, can nengo.Solver be used for the readout layer ?

I didn’t find any code implementing LSM with nengo, does anyone have something to share with me?

Thank you in advance for taking the time to answer :slight_smile:

Edit : I do have more general questions :

• What should I use for the weights of the connections : synapse or transform ? I thought that weights were representing synapses but it seems that code examples use transform for it.

• How can I run the simulation X times (for the X examples in my train set) ? Because I need to modify the input node at each iteration and reset the simulation too I imagine.

Hi @Daglas, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

I’m not super familiar with reservoir computing to fully answer your questions, but I can answer your more generic Nengo related ones.