Removing Probes and Adjusting Learning Rates on Nengo Loihi

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Nengo, NengoDL, and Nengo Loihi, so I apologize if these are simple questions or ones that were answered that I wasn’t able to find through the search.

I’m currently trying to run a converted Keras model on a Loihi chip, and I’m using their NxSDK probes to evaluate the results. The model is identical to the one in the Keras to Loihi SNN notebook, though I’m using a different dataset as an input. I’m also training the model in Keras and just converting the results with NengoDL I noticed that in the execution time plots, a very large amount of the time was spent in the host phase.

When I read through the NxSDK documentation, it seemed like the creation of certain monitor probes affected these host times, so I found the areas where they were created on the Nengo Loihi side and attempted to remove them. I managed to reduce the host times with this method. However, removing the probes ended up affecting the final accuracy of the output, causing it to increase for some reason. The following is a snippet of how I attempted to remove the monitor probes:

loihi_sim = nengo_loihi.Simulator(net,dt=dt)

# Trying to remove probes from the Loihi model
from collections import OrderedDict
loihi_sim.model.probes = []
loihi_sim.model.nengo_probes = []
loihi_sim.model.chip2host_params = {}
loihi_sim.model.chip2host_receivers = OrderedDict()

board = loihi_sim.sims["loihi"].nxsdk_board

# Trying to remove probes from the board
board.monitor.probeConditionToProbeMap = {}
board.monitor.probeConditionToProbeMap
board.numProbes = 0

Is there a better way to remove all the monitor probes created by the board and model objects? Or would anything I’ve done in the code snippet affect the final results of the run?