Output of a Probe, Node or Ensemble

Hi,

I am new to nengo. How can I get the output of a probe or a node or an ensemble so that I can apply algebraic operations on the data? I mean I want the data to be an array. In this simple code for example, is it possible to get the output of the probe as an array? Thanks.

model = nengo.Network()
with model:

a = nengo.Node(np.sin, size_out=1)

b = nengo.Node(None, size_in=1)

nengo.Connection(a,b)

C = nengo.Probe(b)

Hi @smjh1371, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

From your question, it’s unclear whether you are asking in the context of NengoGUI (the browser-based GUI), or just Nengo (the simulator that you can run in the Python command line). I know it can be somewhat confusing, but Nengo can be used to refer to both. :laughing:

Since you are asking to do analysis on probe data, you are probably looking to include your Nengo networks in more complex systems. As such, my recommendation would be to write your Nengo code and run them from the Python command line, or to run it within a Jupyter notebook. The downside to these approaches is that you’ll need to manage the graphs and plots yourself (i.e., using a package like matplotlib). To get you started with this approach, all of the examples found on the Nengo documentation page are formatted as Jupyter notebooks. You can also find these examples in the Nengo codebase here.

The primary difference between a Nengo model that you run in the GUI and one that you run from the Python command line (or Jupyter notebook) is that you’ll need to invoke the Nengo simulator yourself (NengoGUI handles the simulator invocation for you). A quick example of this is as follows:

import nengo
import numpy as np

# Define Nengo network
with nengo.Network() as model:
    a = nengo.Node(lambda t: np.sin(t))
    b = nengo.Node(size_in=1)
    nengo.Connection(a, b)
    c = nengo.Probe(b)

# Create and start the Nengo simulator
with nengo.Simulator(model) as sim: