On the application of supervised learning in Nengo for data stream mining. Q1: encoding methods

Hello everyone.

I’m a researcher focused on machine learning, namely in the development of supervised/unsupervised methods for data stream mining (DSM). I recently discovered Nengo and SNNs in general and I think they are impressive. The temporal dynamics of SNNs are perfect for DSM. However, the supervised learning concepts I have been reading about in the literature are significantly different from the ones employed in Nengo. Maybe I’m confused due to terminology, so I ask you for some clarifications. Please, note that all concepts I’m going to employ are related to machine learning concepts.

I have two main questions: one related to encodings and the other one is related to learning algorithms. As I think these questions can be large, I’m going to write two separate topics for clarity. Here we go!

My first question is related to encoding methods. It is well-known that the encoding method employed in SNNs significantly affects the performance (e.g., in terms of accuracy) of the model. For example, I’m going to refer to this recent work:

Petro, B., Kasabov, N., & Kiss, R. M. (2020). Selection and Optimization of Temporal Spike Encoding Methods for Spiking Neural Networks. IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, 31(2), 358–370. https://doi.org/10.1109/TNNLS.2019.2906158

Here, the authors mention three main types of encoding methods: firing rate, population rank coding and temporal coding (although they only focus on the latter). Then, they analize the performance of different encoding methods, namely Threshold-based representation (TBR), Step-forward encoding (SF), Moving window (MW) and Ben’s Spiker Algorithm (BSA).