Number of parameters in SNN and CNN

Hi everyone!
I created a nengo network and another non-spiking network with the same architecture. Is it normal to have approximately the same amount of trainable parameters but an enormous higher amount of non-trainable parameters for the spiking neural network?
My non-spiking network has 3,085,155 trainable and 486 non-trainable parameters. My spiking neural network has 3,354,981 trainable and 174,016,834 non-trainable parameters.
I am new to the world of spiking neural networks and would like to understand why the amount of non-trainable parameters differ so much.

Thank you so much in advance!

That’s how I calculate the number of parameter for the spiking neural network:
nengo_params = sum(
np.prod(s.shape) for s in sim.keras_model.weights)
nengo_trainable_params = sum(
np.prod(w.shape) for w in sim.keras_model.trainable_weights)

Hi @Louuiissaa and welcome to the forum!

Great question. Currently (at time of writing), the most recent release of Nengo-DL includes many variables in the non-trainable parameters that aren’t traditionally called “parameters”, such as the state that the simulator is maintaining from one time-step to the next.

That said, the current version of master (since this PR has been merged) has since separated out those variables from the non-trainable parameters. And so, if you run the command:

pip install git+https://github.com/nengo/nengo-dl

then that will install the master branch of Nengo-DL, which will give you the expected non-trainable parameter count. This step will not be needed once the next release occurs. Let us know if that works, thanks!

Edit: As a correction, nengo-dl>=3.2.0 is sufficient since the change has been released (you don’t need the master branch necessarily).

Thank you @arvoelke for the quick reply!