[noob alert] running speed of large-scale model

Hello to everyone, i am new to nengo and i just started implementing a paper found on the internet about hierarchical reinforncement learning [https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0180234]. To start with, when i created the model and tried to run it, it was really slow. I cant understand if there is a bottleneck in the code and how can i get a speed equal to 1x (in the down left section). If do you think that there is a performance issue, do you have any suggestions about how can i improve it?

Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad english!

Hi @sizeras, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

In the NengoGUI, the speed indicator in the bottom left gives you an approximation of how fast your model is running compared to real time. As an example, if it reads “1”, that means (using the default simulation dt of 1ms), one simulation timestep takes 1ms to complete. If, one simulation timestep took 2ms to complete, the speed indicator would read “0.5”.

The simulation speed of a Nengo model is dependent on a few factors:

• The size of your Nengo model. This is roughly proportional to the number of neurons in your model.
  • The hardware you are using.
  • Whether or not your are running NengoGUI.

Model Size
Regarding model size, naturally, the larger your model, the slower the simulation will run. This is because your computer needs to run the neuron computation for each neuron in your model. As a quick example, I’ve personally built models with several million neurons, and that took about 3-4 days to run about 30s of simulation time (i.e., the speed indicator would have been ~0.000086)

Computer Hardware