Nengo with 5D data

Dear all,

I am converting an analog signal through an ADC, and my output is actually 5D arrays.
Specifically, it has the shape of (1438, 95, 3, 32,32). I need to iterate over the first dimension and send them into a simple spiking network batch by batch. However, I am not sure if Nengo core is able to deal with 4-d data?

My main aim would be to create an end-to-end spiking neural network (the inserted data should be changed into spikes, and learning should be done in a supervised way) that can do classifications based on the inserted 5D-data (4D after sending batches of it). However, I am not sure if I should use Nengo core or Nengo DL for that.

Also, a very simple code that is capable of doing that in Nengo core or Nengo DL would be quite helpful. As I am still new to Nengo.

Thanks.

Hello @ji16qewe, welcome to our community. For the following question,

I am pointing you towards two Nengo Core tutorials which show you how to represent N dimensional data and do calculations on them. Do note that in these tutorials the value of N=2, but the principle of representing 4D data would remain the same.

Basically, you create N one dimensional ensembles, e.g.

A = nengo.Ensemble(100, dimensions=1, radius=10) and
B = nengo.Ensemble(100, dimensions=1, radius=10)

(for the value of N=2) and then create another ensemble for representing N=2 dimensional data, i.e.

combined = nengo.Ensemble(220, dimensions=2, radius=15)

And then you need to connect them as follows:

nengo.Connection(A, combined[0])
nengo.Connection(B, combined[1])

You will find more details in the linked tutorials.

Next, with respect to the following:

I am not completely sure if Nengo or Nengo-DL allows spike based training as of now. There’s KerasSpiking which allows you to do spike aware training. Specifically, it does spike based forward pass and non-spike based backward pass (to propagate the errors back) during training phase.