Nengo DL time series forecasting with regressors

Hi,

I am new to spiking neural net. I am working to figure out a possible benefit of time series forecasting with spiking neural net. My question is that Nengo DL can be used for time series forecasting with regressors? I can follow a classification problem in example but my goal is to predict real values.

I have real-valued three regressors say X1, X2, X3, and one real-valued predictor.

Thanks,

Hi @happyjang7, welcome to the Nengo forum!

In Nengo DL, there isn’t a very strong distinction between classification and regression problems. See, for example, the plots at the bottom of the page; the correct number is the highest value, but all numbers have a real value associated with them. If you wanted each of those numbers to be a certain value rather than only wanting the chosen value to have the highest, you could use a different objective function. The MNIST example uses the tf.nn.softmax_cross_entropy_with_logits_v2 objective function, which gives good results for classification problems. The default objective function, mean squared error, would be appropriate for regression problems. Depending on the type of problem, other objective functions could give better performance. But the overall structure of the network and how it is built and trained within Nengo DL will be very similar regardless of whether you’re solving a classification or regression problem.

Hi @tbekolay.

Thanks for your reply. I will try it and ask if I have any further question.

Sounds good!

Hi, @tbekolay.

I have one more question. I have tried to make Multivariate CNN Models with nengo where there are 7 historical data points (input: 3 by 2, output: real number). As you recommended, I set objective function with mse. I set n_epoches as 1000 but the test result is very different from what I expected (y_test = 206.0161). Could you guide me where I missed with the below code written based on your tutorial?