MNIST Classification Example in NengoDL

Hi Nengo team! I am relatively new to Nengo and SNNs (~2 months of reading documentation, following along with examples, etc.), but I have done a little more work with image classification and regular CNNs.

Main focus of this topic: Why does the exact same architecture/setup have such different training losses and test accuracies between MNIST and Fashion MNIST? I am aware that MNIST is essentially a “solved” dataset, and Fashion MNIST is more challenging.
My classification error after training with MNIST is 0.75% (same as if I used pretrained weights), and the training loss is 0.8347, which seems rather large for MNIST compared to similar architectures in TF/Keras.
However, the classification error I get after training with Fashion MNIST is ~33.31%, with a training loss of 61.3385.

The example is from the Jupyter Notebook here, but instead of loading in pretrained weights, I’ve set do_training = True to train it on my own.

Keeping all else the same, there were only a few changes I made to the code.

1. I imported each dataset from Keras, rather than via the urlretrieve method. This is because the latter method had a training set of 50000 samples, rather than 60000.
  2. I increased n_steps from 30 to 100.
  3. I wanted to use the entire test set to test the network, but the example reduced the number of test images to speed up the example. All I did was remove both minibatch_size*2 parts from the code below.

test_data = { inp: np.tile(test_data[0][:minibatch_size*2, None, :], (1, n_steps, 1)), out_p_filt: np.tile(test_data[1][:minibatch_size*2, None, :], (1, n_steps, 1))}

Why is there such a drastic difference in accuracy/loss between MNIST and Fashion MNIST?

Follow-up questions related to this classification example:

1. What was the rationale for configuring max_rates, intercepts, amplitude of the LIF neuron, and synapse of the out_p_filt probe to those specific values?