LMU for Time series forecasting

Hi everyone,

I am new to Nengo DL. I have been trying to see if it is possible to make time-series forecasts using an SNN.

I tried to implement an LMU to forecast the time series. I have attached the code below:

LMU nengoDL.ipynb (149.5 KB)

but when I run the simulation on my own time series data(stock prices) then surprisingly again with this model I get the same prediction value(output) for all test samples and also get a huge loss.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong here, since I tried to tune the parameters but nothing seems to work. Would greatly appreciate it if someone could help. thank you.

Thank you

1 Like

Hi @acnh371, and welcome to the Nengo forums. :smiley:

In addition to the thread you have posted, there is another (more recent) thread that may be of interest to you as well: link.

With respect to the notebook you posted, I found that for the dummy dataset, the model needed a large about of epochs (~5000) to reach a decent test result. I also reduced the model parameters (by making the units and order both 30) in order to make sure that the LMU network wasn’t overfitting the relatively small training data set.

As for the actual (stock price) data, I would caution that such a simplistic model (i.e. just the LMU network) may not be enough to produce decent results. Additionally, I don’t even know if forecasting the stock price is possible with the dataset you used.

Hi @xchoo,

Thank you for your reply.

For the actual data(stock data). I have now changed the dataset and I am getting comparable results to LSTM.

I was wondering if it is possible to implement a spiking version of the LMU in nengoDL. I have seen an example using Nengo Loihi but I don’t have access to Loihi hardware.

Thank you

Hi @acnh371,