KerasSpiking and TensorFlow

Hi everyone, I am a MSc student interested in Spiking Neural Networks.

First of all, I would like to thank the people working behind Nengo and the community. I have managed to find almost always the information and the knowledge I was seeking. However, this time I need to reach out for help and a suggestion.

The main reason for me to approach the technology of SNN is that I am very enthusiastic about the great possibilities in terms of energy savings due to the spiking nature of such networks. The main application I am exploring is time-series forecasting using SNN. I have two possible strategies:

• converting to NengoDL a DNN model that uses LSTM and runs on Tensorflow
  • writing from scratch my new spiking model using either NengoDL or KerasSpiking

Since I am also interested in good quality predictions and I have been very impressed by the results obtained by LMU on the sequential-MNIST challenge, I am really thinking this is the best way forward for me. Moreover, the similarity of LMU to LSTM together with the numerous learning resources on the Nengo website also influenced my decision.

In the past couple of months, I have extensively explored Nengo and its application from the most basic example to the most complex ones related to NengoDL. For instance, I went through the Nengo examples, with particular attention to the one about LMU. I have also followed and reproduced most of the NengoDL examples, and again focusing on LMU. I have to say it’s quite easy and straightforward to follow through with your example and documentation, given the really nice quality and quantity, but unfortunately, I am not an expert at all in regards to TensorFlow. For this reason, I have struggled without any good progress in the past weeks by trying to converting the TensorFlow LSTM model I was given to a NengoDL model with LMU.