Installation Mac M1

Hello,

I am new in Nengo and I can’t find a good way to install it on my Mac M1.
I tried to create an environnement (anaconda) with tensorflow and I could install keras_spiking.

However whenever I try to import it and to run the code there: Classifying Fashion MNIST with spiking activations — KerasSpiking 0.3.1.dev0 docs

the kernel dies. Do you have an idea how could I do?
Did someone could install Nengo and run the above code on its mac?

Thanks in advance,

Best,

Hey Maxime,

I’ve initially had issues with installing keras-spiking on my Apple Silicon machine using a virtual environment and pip install keras-spiking. This is due to the fact that tensorflow-macos is not recognized as tensorflow. Thus, I had to create a temporal workaround (see).

After changing the setup.py (see above PR), my procedure was:

python3 -m venv ./venv # creates the virtual environment in the current project folder
source venv/bin/activate # activates the venv
pip install tensorflow-macos # installs Apple Silicon-compatible tensorflow package
pip install tensorflow-metal # GPU support for Apple Silicon chips 
pip install -e /path/to/keras-spiking # installs local copy of keras-spiking repo with adjusted setup.py

Now you can simply import the packages in your .py file as usual:

import tensorflow as tf
import keras_spiking

That’s how I got the Jupyter notebook running on my M1 machine. However, as you’re using anaconda you may face another issue. If you have any further questions, please reach out :slight_smile:

Hello and thanks for your help,

I tried to follow your steps and used venv instead of conda.
However, when I am running the last install:

pip install -e /path/to/keras-spiking # installs local copy of keras-spiking repo with adjusted setup.py

I got this error cause it does not find tensorflow as I installed tensorflow-macos and tensorflow-metal but not the simple tensorflow: