Importing my own dataset for the Nengo Model

Hi, I am quite new to nengo. I was following the “Optimizing a spiking neural network” example in Nengo; seemed to work perfectly. Then I got into the task of importing my own dataset and got a lot of errors. The sample dataset which I was working with is the dogs and cats dataset which can be found at this link . I have tried numerous ways of importing my own dataset, but none of the methods seem to be working. Here is the algorithm which I’m using to replace the current method to load the dataset.

Instead of this:

(train_images, train_labels), (
test_images,
test_labels,
) = tf.keras.datasets.mnist.load_data()

I was doing this to load a dataset:

plt.figure(figsize=(28,28))
test_folder=r'/data/train/cats'
IMG_WIDTH=28
IMG_HEIGHT=28
img_folder=r'/data/train'
for i in range(5):
    file = random.choice(os.listdir(test_folder))
    image_path= os.path.join(test_folder, file)
    img=mpimg.imread(image_path)
    ax=plt.subplot(1,5,i+1)
    ax.title.set_text(file)
    plt.imshow(img)

### Shuffle Dataset and labels
def unison_shuffled_copies_train(a, b):
    assert len(a) == len(b)
    p = np.random.permutation(len(a))
    return a[p], b[p]

def unison_shuffled_copies_test(a, b):
    assert len(a) == len(b)
    return a[p], b[p]

def create_dataset_train(img_folder):

img_data_array=[]
    class_name=[]

for dir1 in os.listdir(img_folder):
        for file in os.listdir(os.path.join(img_folder, dir1)):
            image_path= os.path.join(img_folder, dir1,  file)
            image= cv2.imread( image_path, 0)
            if image is not None:
              image=cv2.resize(image, (IMG_HEIGHT, IMG_WIDTH),interpolation = cv2.INTER_AREA)
              image=np.array(image)
              image = image.astype('float32')
              image /= 255 
              img_data_array.append(image)
              class_name.append(dir1)
    return img_data_array, class_name
# extract the image array and class name