Import sensor dataset

Hello everyone

I’m new to Nengo and I have some doubts about how I can solve a classification problem with NengoDL. First I have a question about how to import the input data. In most NengoDL data training examples the MNIST dataset is used, but if I have a dataset (in a text file) of FSR (Force Sensing Resistors) type force sensor signal with a certain sample frequency. How can you import this temporal data into a training?

I would say that this is not a NengoDL question, but rather, a general question on how you would import this form of temporal data into a Keras network. It really depends on what format your data is in, and for the following suggestions, I’m assuming that your data is just the waveform (e.g. voltage or current or resistance reading) you record from the FSR. Off the top of my head, I can think of two methods:

1. The first method is to treat the entire FSR waveform as the input signal. I.e., rather than an input “image” to an “MNIST” network, you would have the entire FSR waveform as your “image”. This may work for your application, but the one downside to this method is that the waveforms for all training / testing data points must have the same length (i.e., same number of sample points).
  2. The second method is to present the FSR waveform as an input to the network. The psMNIST example is a good reference for how to take “static” data and convert it to “temporal” data. Note that in order for this approach to work, you’ll need a Keras or NengoDL network that has some kind of recurrence.

Hello xchoo!
Many thanks for the reply!

You are correct in assuming that it is just a signal (waveform) that I record from the FSR. But let me explain my problem to see if these two proposed methods can really be used in solving the problem.