Implement Full adder in nengo

Hi everyone,
I am just new to nengo and want to implement a full adder module in nengo. I have tried to implement the sum function using XOR operator “^” but the output goes only to almost .70 for 1 and 0.25 when the output should be 0. Is there any other way to implement the full adder module? However, the carry part works as intended. Also using a threshold function to get the logical values for 0 and 1.

Any form of suggestions is welcome.
thank you

Hai
Update
Now the XOR part works well instead of using the “^”, I have used the mathematical expression s=(a-b)(a-b) and for the carry function used carry=(s-c)(s-c). Is there any other efficent way to do this?.
Thanks

Hi @SubinSam, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

Your request is an atypical one. The spiking neural networks implemented in Nengo are generally more well suited to functions with continuous outputs, since the function approximation done by the NEF algorithm rely partly on the smoothing operation (i.e., smoothing a spike train into an “average” continuous value) done by the synapses of the neural connections. Since the various signals moving about the neural network are smoothed, it is very difficult (but not impossible) to get exact 0’s and 1’s that are typical of binary operators.

That said, it is still possible to use various tricks in Nengo (and the NEF) to get a neural ensemble to approximate the function of a full adder. I will elaborate on these tricks below!

Setting Evaluation Points
When you create a nengo.Ensemble, by default, Nengo will optimize the input and output weights of that ensemble to try and represent a value anywhere within the unit (having a radius of 1) hypersphere (sphere / circle of arbitrary dimensions). For scalar values, this means Nengo will try to make the ensemble the best* (*relative to things outside the unit hypersphere) for values within the range of -1 to 1.