Hierarchy reinforcement learning vs NengoDL

I’m new to Nengo and the neuromorphic field. I want to implement a model that controls a robot with reinforcement learning in Nengo.

I’ve read a lot of stuff before I go, but I’m confused… I saw the hierarchy reinforcement learning (HRL) implementation that built the entire model of Q-Learning directly with spiking neurons.

On the other hand, I saw that you have the Nengo DL that can “convert” regular non-spiking Keras models into spiking ones.

I don’t know which way to go and what are the benefits of every choice. The easiest thing for people with experience in Keras is probably the Nengo DL. But if it was so easy to convert non-spiking models to spiking ones, no additional effort was needed for a thesis like the HRL…

Any suggestion would be highly appreciated.

Hello @nrofis, Welcome to our community! I am not at all versed with Reinforcement Learning (RL), but do have some experience with NengoDL and I hope… with the following explanation of NengoDL you might be able to identify how apt is NengoDL for your RL task.

NengoDL is built over TF with a support for Nengo based spiking networks, such that it facilitates easy training/conversion to Spiking Networks, but with certain limitations. It cannot convert “any” TF/Keras model to a completely Spiking model, rather TF models with a fixed set of TF attributes/layers. What I mean is, a TF model built of layers mentioned here can be converted into entirely spiking network, but layers which aren’t mentioned here are executed as TensorNodes i.e. original non-spiking TF functions.