Counting synapses within an ensemble and other questions

Hi everyone, I am new to nengo. I was just wondering how many synapses are present within in ensemble with say, 1500 neurons? Or how many synapses would be there when the ensemble synapses back onto itself (nengo.Connect(ens.neurons, ens.neurons))?
Also, how do I choose what solvers? Is one of them the most biologically plausible?

Thanks!

Any help is appreciated!

Hi @solvers, welcome to the forum!

Making an ensemble with any number of neurons does not create any synapses (practically or theoretically) – it only constructs N=1500 neuron models. Those neurons are considered part of the same group by virtue of being sensitive to the same value (in the case of NEF representation).

Synapses are introduced when you make connections. If you do nengo.Connection(ens.neurons, ens.neurons), the number of synaptic connections depends on the transform you pass in. The transform is of shape (ens.n_neurons, ens.n_neurons), meaning that you are specifying the full connection weight matrix between each neuron and every other neuron in the ensemble. For 1500 neurons, that means 1500 x 1500 = 2,250,000 synaptic connections. Of course, if you set any of those connection weights to be 0 then you could consider that to be the lack of a synaptic connection, so 2,250,000 synapses would be the maximum that you can specify.

Decoder solvers are only used when making NEF-style networks in which an ensemble represents a vector, and that vector is transformed through connections to other ensembles. If you’re not making any NEF-style connections, then the solver is not used. We will be making this more obvious in the next version of Nengo.