Binary Image Classification using SNN predicts all zeroes

Hi again, I am quite new to deep learning and nengoDL. I was following the “Spiking Neural Network using MNIST ” and the tensorflow code to nengo examples, and I tried to follow the same procedure to my dataset of 1616 audio spectrogram images that has to be classified as 0 or 1.

In the meanwhile, I trained a CNN model using the dataset and have achieved a 95% validation accuracy, and I wanted to observe the performance of SNN on this dataset. I initially started with a simple CNN model and a low epoch count, and using nengo_dl.converter() and activation=nengo.SpikingRectifiedLinear() I converted it to SNN and compiled and trained the model. The model’s accuracy seems sit on a range of 49-51% and upon using sim.predict() I get a numpy array of all zeroes. I’m pretty sure it has nothing to do with SNN, and it’s some common mistake.

I have also attached the ipynb file below for reference, and I would like someone to provide me suggestions and ways to find this fault. I have 1616 audio spectrogram images, 808 images labelled as ‘1’ and 808 images as ‘0’.

Thanks in advance :wink:

spiking__new.ipynb (83.4 KB)

Hi @JoshuaAlfred,

I didn’t have time to do a deep dive into your notebook, but from my quick look, there are definitely a few things that may be causing the issue.

Regarding the data labels, I see that you simply labelled the first half of the data as 1, and the second half of the data as 0. You’ll definitely want to check that the data itself is identically organized. If the (actual) labels for the audio spectrograms do not match the labels you have assigned it, your network will be unable to learn the association between the audio data and the label, which will result in an accuracy of about 50%. As a note, since your network has only 2 classes (label 0 or label 1), an accuracy of about 50% means that your network is essentially making a guess.