Basic concept of essemble and connection

I’m a beginner, so I have some confusion about the essemble and connection functions.

1. how can we define the “dimension” in the essemble, eg. essemble(60, dimension=2), so it’s a neuron array with the size of (30,2) or (60,2) or something like this. Because I see a definition essemble(1,dimension=2), but how can 1 neuron to be 2 dimensions?

2. What’s the differences between “transform” and “function” in the connection function, and what’s the meaning of “transform=[[-1]] * error.n_neurons”, it builds weights of -1 with a number of error.n_neurons?

Hi @Evian, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

If you are a beginner to Nengo, I recommend checking out the Nengo summer school YouTube playlist which goes through the basics of Nengo, and the basics of the Neural Engineering Framework (NEF) that Nengo uses to implement some of it’s core algorithms. This page on our Nengo documentation site also provides a quick summary of the NEF algorithm and Nengo code to illustrate said algorithm. If you want to know about the code details of the NEF algorithm, this page implements it in standard (i.e., not-Nengo) Python (this page is a useful reference if you want to re-implement the NEF in another programming language).

As for your questions in particular though, I’ll answer them below, but without getting too deep into the details of Nengo and the NEF.