Testing Neural Network Response for Video Input

Hello everyone,

I’m trying to implement a simple neural network and test how the neurons behave with a video as input. I am pretty new in Nengo and after a few weeks of research and a some attempts of different solutions I can not manage to feed the video to the neural network.

Below you will find my approach to the problem. I’m trying to feed a video (split in frames, so actually I’m feeding images) to a Neuron and connecting this one to other with a sinusoidal output to see how it behaves. I really don’t know if this is the best approach and for now on it’s not working, I got trouble with the array dimension in the “eval_points”…

I’m open to any suggestion, thank you in advance!

#Load images
images_files = glob.glob("full-path/one_clip_frames/*.jpg")

images = []
for file in images_files:
  img = PIL.Image.open(file)
  img_array = np.array(img.getdata()).flatten()
  images.append(img_array)

img_rows, img_cols = 640, 480
img_size = 640 * 480

#number of hidden units
n_hid = 1000

ens_params = dict(
   eval_points=images,
   neuron_type=nengo.LIFRate(),
   intercepts=nengo.dists.Choice([0.1]),
   max_rates=nengo.dists.Choice([100]),
)

with nengo.Network() as model:
   a = nengo.Ensemble(n_hid, img_size, **ens_params)
   v = nengo.Node(np.sin)
   conn = nengo.Connection(
   a, v, synapse=None,
   eval_points=images)

encoders = rng.normal(size=(n_hid, img_size))
a.encoders = encoders

tile(encoders.reshape(-1, img_rows, img_cols), rows=4, cols=6, grid=True)

Hi @narrietal, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

I did a quick run-through your code, and at first glance, there doesn’t seem to be an issue with the way you have set it up. So, to help debug your issue with the eval_points dimensionality, it would be helpful if you could provide examples of what errors you are getting.