Image Classification and Learning with Semantic Pointers

I am new to NEF and SPA, having only went through the lectures of the Nengo Summer School and tried some basic Nengo tutorials. As I came from a Deep Learning background, I want to make a simple MNIST classifier using Spiking Neural Networks. I see that there are examples which convert tensorflow models into Nengo models for MNIST, but is it possible to achieve this without tensorflow and use STDP learning rules instead? It will be great if anyone can point me to some literature on this.

Hello @yedanqi ! Welcome to our community!

From your question description it seems that you are looking for semantic pointers based methods for image classification using local learning rules e.g. STDP, and not going through the Tensorflow way (i.e. the ANN-to-SNN conversion).

Few points I have:

• STDP in its basic form is an unsupervised local learning rule. MNIST image classification is basically a supervised problem, so STDP alone might not suffice there.
  • Moreover, for building a reasonable classifier with a network of neurons (spiking or non-spiking), you might want to have multiple layers in the network, and training multiple layers in the network isn’t straightforward with local learning rules. Backprop is obviously the winner here.
  • PES is a local supervised learning rule which works well with shallow SNNs. More details here. You may find it useful.

You may also want to check SPAUN where you can find details on MNIST image classification and semantic pointers. Following is a line from the SPAUN link w.r.t. MNIST images:
The image impacts the visual system, and the neurons transform the raw image input (784 dimensions) to a lower dimensional (50 dimensions) Semantic Pointer that preserves central visual features. This is done using a visual hierarchy model (i.e., V1-V2-V4-IT) that implements a learned statistical compression.

2 Likes