Selection function

is it possible to create a multiplexer type selection network where outputs can be selected via the implemented network? I’m quite new to nengo…please help me out
For example I give 3 inputs to 3 sub-networks but I only want to take 2 of them and truncate the third. what sort of approach would be helpful…thanks In advance

:grinning:

1 Like

Hi @rahul, and welcome to the Nengo forums! :smiley:

To answer your question:

Yes, you can! You can use inhibitory gating to selectively inhibit the activities of neural ensembles that you do not want to affect the output. This type of inhibitory gating is used extensively in the Spaun2 model to control the flow of information within the network. You can find the code for a selection network (many inputs-to-one output) and routing network (one input-to-many outputs) here. Note that with inhibitory gating, the inhibitory signal is the inverse of the selection signal. By modifying the configuration of what is inhibited with a specific input, you can do things like select 2 of 3 inputs (compared to the many-to-1 or 1-to-many configurations of the Spaun network).

If you want a more textual and schematic-based description of how these networks work, check out section 3.3.8.3 in my Spaun2 thesis.

1 Like

i really am unable to completely understand the router.py, although the section 3.3.8.3 was clear please is it possible to give some explanation to it. and if it’s ok please point out where is the actual selections taking place…

on a basic level, here is what I wanted to do for one input (in is a fixed output node)
if in==1:
n.Connection(in1, A)
elif in==2:
n.Connection(in1, B)
the output I am getting is constant zero. for both ensembles A,B with both cases of in value
please help me sort it out

Both the router and selector networks work on two concepts: addition, and inhibition.

Consider the following Nengo network:

with nengo.Network() as model:
    ensA = nengo.Ensemble(50, 1)